Sing The Analogous Truth: Kite Strings + Tree = Love

Jars of Clay are sure known for there well thought out, eccentric lyrics that make you think.  But every once in a while they will pop out a doozy mushy corny like Love song… and man can they do it well!

A couple of years ago.  I think for their last full length record.  They wrote a song called “Closer” (Live video featured on Website)

The song is full of lovable acronyms, metaphors and of course analogies about love.  I could pretty much write about the whole song today but I won’t it’s too good and I don’t want to ruin it for you.

I do however, want to focus on the Best line of the song in my opinion.

Here is the whole chorus:

I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough

I want your kite strings tangled in my trees, all wrapped up

I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough

I’ll be the comets that are falling from the sky you light up

When I heard “Kite strings tangled in my trees, all wrapped up” I remember thinking YES!  That’s what I want!  That’s what I want with my relationship with Christ!  I want my Kite strings of life all tangled in HIS LIFE!  All Wrapped up and without any chance of unwinding!

I will stop here cause I thing the analogy pretty much give us a speechless imagery that speaks itself.

“I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough.  I want your kite strings tangled in my trees, all wrapped up”

***sigh…ah…Yes Lord…let it be so…Amen.

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’

2 thoughts on “Sing The Analogous Truth: Kite Strings + Tree = Love

  1. Never thought of it as being “tangled” bc that always gets a bad connotation but in this aspect…I would love to be tangled up with Christ!

  2. Certainly a different way of thinking about it! I like it. Thanks Arny.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

