Sing The Analogous Truth : Fitting The Ocean in a Glass

Now that the Summer is over,  which is my busiest time of year at work, I should have more time for my fellow readers and bloggers!

Horay!!!!

So, I thought it would be a great idea to begin with a monthly series, which The Analogous Truth has been worldly renound for with the likes of “Lessons From a Jedi”  The Analogy of the Ring” “Transformers“, “Lessons From the Godfather” and the most recent, “LOST in Analogies

This next series will be called “SING The Analogous Truth”  as I will take analogies that I find in songs and really speak to the Character of our God.

So, without further a due…

SING THE ANALOGOUS TRUTH: FITTING THE OCEAN IN A GLASS

The Afters are a Christian Band that came out a couple of years ago with a debut album called , “I wish we all could win”. In that album there was a song called The Way You Are.

The chorus goes something like this…

 

It’s like the sun swallowed up by the earth

Like atomic bombs in reverse

As if the glass could contain the sea

That’s the way you are in me

“As if the Glass could contain the Sea”

It’s a pretty awesome song in and of itself, but what I wanna focus on was that line…

As if the glass could contain the sea.

I love that analogous imagery.  I absolutely love it!

To imagine the God that created the universe and hold everything together in the palm of his hand….is living in me now!

He is inside of us!

No matter what you are going through right now.  Remember, you have the creator of the universe inside you!  The same hands that formed the mountains.

The same hands that shaped the Earth.

The same mind that imagined the Sun and the stars

and Spoke everything into existence,

is the same hands holding you now.

the same voice is whispering to your heart.

The same creator is creating a new YOU!

The God of Abraham, Issac, and Jacob is Blessing You!

Embrace it!

When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them? Psalm 8

To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.  Colossians

 

11 thoughts on “Sing The Analogous Truth : Fitting The Ocean in a Glass

  1. Absolutely love The Afters. I remember doing an assignment on that song in High school lol

    But the part you quoted is actually my favorite part of the song. Its crazy to think we have him in us the God who made us and everything around us.

    Awesome!! Cant wait to read about more songs =D

  2. Arny, nice post. I really like that lyric too. I went checked out the track. I like their new stuff much better stylistically.

    I think this is a great idea for a series. I look forward to seeing the other lyrical gems you find.

    • Arny Sanchez says:

      hey thanks for reading Chris!
      God bless you bro!

      I haven’t really listened to their new stuff…i’m more of an oldie kinda guy! lol…they used to be called “Bliss” back in their Indie days…so that’s how I know this song…

      But i promise this seriers will be a good one…the likes of David Crowder and Jars of Clay coming your way! lol…

      Hope to see you on those!

  3. Jason Vana says:

    I love that line, Arny! I’ve always been captivated by the idea that God holds the whole universe in the palm of his hand, much like I would hold water in the palm of my hand. And yet, He lives in me. It blows my mind.

  4. jason1scott says:

    Good stuff–the Afters! What a great lyric. Incredible to think about what He does and has done for love, for relationship with us. He bends down to lift us up and never loses any of His majesty, power, or glory. And we are changed in the process. Thanks Arny.

  5. Stephen says:

    Awesome line and thought, Arny! It’s awe-inspiring to think about the length of God’s reach.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

