“You’re Killing Me Smalls!”

One of the funniest scenes in The Sandlot is when Hamilton Porter tells Scotty Smalls (the new kid in town) if he wants a S’more.  Smalls replys cluelessly with, “Some more what?” Ham: “No no, do you want a S’more?”  Scotty:  “Uh, I haven’t had anything, so how can I have some more of nothing?”

Pic From Movie on Tumblr

Ham looks so annoyed and frustrated that he screams, “You’re killing me Smalls!  This, is S’more stuff, Ok?  Pay Attention!”  Then he goes about teaching Smalls how to make S’mores with graham crackers, chocolate and rosted marshmallows.   Mmmm…I’m getting hungry.

I couldn’t help it the other day when I heard this and think about when Jesus got a little frustrated with one of his disciples, Philip.

See if you can catch the , “You’re Killing me Smalls!” moment…

Jesus said, “I am the Road, also the Truth, also the Life. No one gets to the Father apart from me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him. You’ve even seen him!”

Philip said, “Master, show us the Father; then we’ll be content.”

“You’ve been with me all this time, Philip, and you still don’t understand? To see me is to see the Father. So how can you ask, ‘Where is the Father?’ Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me?

Did you see it?  “Philip, you still don’t understand?”  “You’re killing me Philip!”  “How many times do I have to say the same thing for you to get it?!”

I think we all have our Smalls and Philip moments with Jesus…

We know what is right and still we do the opposite.

We stand there looking like idiots in need…and Jesus says…”You’re Killing me Son!” Don’t you know you can ask for anything in my name and I will give it to you?”

14 thoughts on ““You’re Killing Me Smalls!”

  1. The promises are there if we just claim them! Once we understand what he means by his promises, it’s only a lack of faith that holds us back.

  2. Dan Black on Leadership says:

    What a true post, we all have times when we don’t get it even though we have been told many times. I know God has said to me, “Your killing me” Dan many times. Luckily we serve a patient God. Great reminder.

    • Arny Sanchez says:

      God is so patient…in the verse continues and even comforts the disciples by telling them of The Holy Spirit to come who will be in us to help us get it right!

      and those clueless moments will be no more…or less. lol…

  3. We are slow learners, sometimes. I am fairly certain God has used that exact same phrase on me before.

  4. I’ve heard it before, and I’m sure I’ll hear it again… I think it happens most whenever we don’t really want to hear what God is trying to tell us…

    • Arny Sanchez says:

      That’s true Chris….i can count the number of times i hear a sermon or a verse that I read and Bam! i hear the phrase cause I know I did want to listen or incline to his word…

  5. Eddy says:

    That’s especially true when we ask God for something, yet He gives us something better (something He desires for us, not what we desire for ourselves), yet we don’t often realize it.

    • Arny Sanchez says:

      He always gives us something better….

      we ask for stones…he gives us bread
      we ask for serpents and he gives us fish
      we ask for mediocre…he give us extraordinary!

  6. Jason Vana says:

    I wish it wasn’t true, but I’m sure God says that to me on an almost daily basis. I can be thick-headed sometimes :D

  7. Jim F. says:

    I love it Arny! Such a great truth from such a great line – one that I quoted on this blog a few weeks back I believe :)

  8. we definitely have our Smalls moments…we know what is right but try to change it and see it in a different perspective to suit our needs….sad but true…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

